My culture shock experience with the church

The month of May since 2008 has always been special to me. For a number of reasons has the years progressed but for the purpose of this post, I’ll focus on one. -My faith journey. Lengthy post ahead, enjoy.

Taking the leap into Christendom

Photo by David Dibert from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/big-wooden-cross-on-green-grass-field-under-the-white-clouds-635699/

I vividly remember the day it happened, well quite so. The day was a children’s Sunday and for the most part, the kids were in charge of the service and I (with the permission of my mother) was asked to join the children in siting at the front. The service was good as well as the sermon by the pastor; I remember the question do you want to accept Christ as you’re savior? Or something of that sort but I can’t remember the moment I put up my hand, when I came to the realization; I decided to be serious about the decision even though, like my mother apart of me was totally floored. Two weeks after that commitment I got baptized.

My ultimate mission for this step

I love my church family and was very active in Sunday school attended youth fellowship and all. The vibe in my church is cool, I felt accepted, loved, at peace and warm all they say a church should be. Granted, like every church they too have their differences.

I remember a meeting with the (then) assistant pastor asking the question, why we wanted to become a christian…. After a very long question & answer discussion my answer simply came down to, “I simply want to change the world and taking this step I believe will help me as I strive to lead my peers.” Simply put.

Designed by Richelle T. Henry, 2022

The culture shock experience

I spent eight years with my home church and due to family issues I had to make a shift to another church in my community; very close to home – a whole different denomination. Of course, I missed my home church but I understood the circumstances and did not have a problem with it because it’s one God and he himself understood. However, lovely people I was shocked. Though the culture & vibrancy was very much present and similar as soon as I got settled everything for the life me started to go downward – from the way was dressed to the status of my faith. When the conversation started as to whether or not I was ready to be baptized, I made it known to the member who approached me as well as the administrator that I was saved I was met with what I would call criticism because I did not get saved under their preferred title. By preferred I mean Jesus only vs. Father, Son & Holy Ghost!

Disclaimer: It is important for me to note, the purpose of this blog post is not to jeopardize any denomination. I am simply sharing my experience as a believer and how I overcome various things.

Returning home.

After 6 years of culture shock & outcast ness, I got the clearance to return home. The welcome home was warm and all that I was used despite growth & improvement of the church. Right after I returned and was ready to settle once again, the world got thrown in a global pandemic and as w result, I had to readjust to yet another transition.

Advice for new comers!

After more than a decade and counting, my advice to young converts would be: Build a relationship with God, don’t just fall in a routine. Christians are human too and they will not all be nice. When all else fail only your relationship with your creator matter.

Follow your convictions. I believe in being obedient and honoring your leaders, however it is vital for you to have a conversation with the master, know why he call you; he’ll reveal it eventually not everyone has the same mission. Know what’s right and wrong for you.

It’s not a competition. In this faith you’ll only be qualified by experience. Do not compare yours to that of others, be easy on yourself. Build a community. You can’t go through it all by yourself you need people. You’ll be tempted to walk away; if not all milk and honey.

A huge shout out to The Anointed Writer for sharing a bit of her story; on her YouTube channel, through which I fought inspiration to write!

Watch Recommend video: Things I which I knew as a young Christian – Really Amoy

Thank you for stopping by to read. Like this post & leave a comment.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑