A Limitless 2023 Year in Review

Don’t compare yourself to others. Be like the sun and shine when it’s your time.

– Unknown

For a moment, I thought: this year was a good one but I didn’t achieve much (as I wanted to!) That was not true. I had a really good year; that was imposter syndrome. I shook the thought, be replying, “that’s not true and I’ll prove it to you.

So, I grabbed my phone and went through my camera roll…

Photo: Richelle T. Henry

This year I: Joined WordPress’ 2023 installment of the bloganury challenge and completed it, blogging for thirty-one days in January. I also missed my end of semester examinations due to internet issues – literally turned out to be a blessing in disguise. February came around and for some reason, I was calm, despite trying to rescheduling my exams; my first time missing exams, felt like it was costing me an arm and a leg but it was a month, I got the opportunity to spend with myself (although I had loved ones around). Then, by March, I agreed to a leave of absence from school (because of what I mentioned earlier; best recommended). In all honesty, it was a bittersweet feeling: school have been a chaotic rollercoaster and I was grateful for break to focus on other stuff; on the other hand, however, taking it would mean, my time has been expanded!

I kicked off March by resuming my podcast, ten days in! On day sixteen, I got a message to say that one of my community members, Joel, nominated me for an award for my work with the podcast one which I was truly lost for words, and humbled to be recognized.

Attending the event was so much fun, as I got the opportunity to meet and be among other “Sheroes” who are making an impact in their respective communities and respective fields.


Photo dump highlights from the event. Posted on Instagram!

Check out my LinkedIn for more thoughts. The event got highlighted in Our Today and the Jamaica observer newspapers!

It is clear, March was my most eventful months of the year. My break continued with ease in April and May.

I collaborated with a community member Dainalyn on her ‘Global Yaadie‘ podcast in May for an episode on “Beyond Accessibility” (regarding) Climate Justice.

By June, I returned to school with summer semester. In my opinion, that was on of my best semesters. I felt refreshed and ready to go, again. Ironically, not all my results reflected that, despite the hard work I put in; it felt like a heartbreak when I wasn’t successful in my Spanish exams specifically. If you know my love affair with the subject, them you might understand why.

July, I collaborated with another community member Candice her project on climate change – talk about the stars aligning!

Read: Online Exclusive: Empower the Disabled Community to become Climate Resilient: Jamaican Disability Advocates
(Also featured In Spanish via Global Voices)

August was a good month for me. I had a day with family attended one of my uncle’s wedding. I also went on campus for the first time in order to sit my summer end of semester examinations.


In September, I participated in a panel discussion with UNESCO on their inaugural podcasters event on the topic; “Waves between the Caribbean and Europe: Connecting creative audience through podcasts.” See highlights shared on Instagram.

In October, I celebrated six years of blogging. November was also a good month. Nothing exciting really happened and by this time, I was counting down to the days celebrating my twenty fourth birthday.

My birthday was one filled with absolute gratitude, laughter, happy tears, heartwarming message from family and friends; that left me feeling grateful for community.

From Twitter.

Takeaways and Lessons.

Of course, what’s a year in review without reflecting on the Lessons and takeaways? This year, my theme was Limitless. I learnt how to embrace rest and set boundaries.

Lessons of 2023

Looking forward

There is so much I could go on about, but as we bid 2023 farewell, I do so with a grateful heart. For all the wins, lessons, opportunities, laughter and tears. As I look towards the new (calendar) year, I am excited to see what it brings and I ask for the grace to continue navigating life as I making a meaningful impact; with the creator’s lead. 🛐🥂

Before you go:

  • Hit the follow/ subscribe button ✅ for more updates from this site
  • Stay connected with me here
  • Support my podcast

Thanks for the support in 2023; stay safe!


I will leave with you, one of my top songs from 2023: Firm Foundation by Maverick City

Wishing for you and yours, a safe, healthy and peaceful 2024, filled with joy, love laughter, lessons and wins in every aspect.

Please remember to count your blessings, always! 🥂

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑